[Nameplate] Fog/Mist ~ 75°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 62°F
Wednesday, Aug. 31, 2016

Bootheel Conference volleyball awards released

Saturday, November 3, 2012

Photo by Scott Matthews - SEMO News Service
Malden's Sarah Bukich prepares to serve earlier this season. Bukich was selected Bootheel Conference Player of the Year.
The 2012 Bootheel Conference volleyball awards have been released.

Staff Photo by Dustin Ward
South Pemiscot coach Cassandra Woolverton instructs her players earlier this season. Woolverton was selected Bootheel Conference Co-Coach of the Year.
Malden's Sarah Bukich has been selected Bootheel Conference Player of the Year. Bukich averaged 12 kills, three blocks and 17 digs per game. She served with 89 percent accuracy.

"We're really proud of Sarah," Malden coach Jon Smith said. "This is a great accomplishment for her and speaks volumes to her level of play as well as her hard work and dedication to being the best player she can be over her high school career."

Malden's Jon Smith and South Pemiscot's Cassandra Woolverton were selected Co-Coaches of the Year in the Bootheel Conference.

Malden's varsity volleyball team finished with a record of 19-11-1 and placed second in the Bootheel Conference varsity volleyball tournament.

"I am honored to have been named Co-Coach of the Year," Smith said. "It is an honor I share with my assistant, Coach Sokolova, as well as our girls who have all worked hard the entire season to make this team as successful as we have been."

South Pemiscot's varsity volleyball team finished with a record of 23-4, was undefeated against Bootheel Conference teams, and won the Bootheel Conference Tournament at the varsity level for a third straight season.

Staff Photo by Dustin Ward
Malden coach Jon Smith instructs his players earlier this season. Smith was selected Bootheel Conference Co-Coach of the Year.
"It's an honor to be selected as Co-Coach of the Year, especially being a first-year coach," Woolverton said. "My girls gave me a great first season and I feel blessed to have had the chance to coach them."

View complete all-conference selections for varsity and junior varsity below.

Note: The Bootheel Conference coaches vote on the all-conference selections. Name spellings were taken from the Bootheel Conference all-conference awards press release.

Bootheel Conference Player of the Year: Sarah Bukich - Malden

Bootheel Conference Coaches of the Year: Jon Smith - Malden; Cassandra Woolverton - South Pemiscot

Bootheel Conference Varsity All-Conference Team:

Carrie Shephard - South Pemiscot

Sarah Bukich - Malden

Amy Johnson - Kennett

Tekeya Stewart - Hayti

Tanasia Carter - Caruthersville

Brittany Bessenger - Portageville

Alisha Campbell - South Pemiscot

Ashton Howell - Malden

Taylor Clifton - Senath-Hornersville

Kenna Hounihan - Kennett

Sydney Hooten - Malden

Karessa Arterbridge - Hayti

Danielle Morgan - Portageville

Honorable Mention:

Chyann Coffer - Kennett

Jenny Lockhert - Kennett

Samone Spann - Hayti

Christa Acup - Malden

Allison Hoffmann - Senath-Hornersville

Allyson Jones - Senath-Hornersville

Morgan Whittington - South Pemiscot

Kirsten Robinson - South Pemiscot

Bootheel Conference Junior Varsity All-Conference Team:

Jacky Lockhert - Kennett

Justice Carlock - Malden

Kiara Hollins - Caruthersville

Kattie Davis - South Pemiscot

Ashleigha Rose - Hayti

McKenzie Cantrell - Senath-Hornersville

Logan Vaughan - Kennett

Kelsey Mullins - Malden

Nicole Davis - Caruthersville

Rachel Lane - Kennett

Tenacious Jones - Hayti

Mallary Hoggard - Portageville

Honorable Mention:

Mekinsey Marchbanks - Kennett

Joelle Siebenhuener - Kennett

Madison Pickens - Kennett

Alexis Mason - Hayti

Elizabeth Blume -Malden

Takenya Houston - South Pemiscot

Madison Henley South Pemiscot

Alexia Vilchis - Senath-Hornersville

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: