[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 77°F ~ Low: 63°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Esther Irene Smith

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Esther Irene Smith, daughter of the late Joseph Boram Ford and Mary Jane Robinson Ford, was born April 17, 1924, at Johnson's Island, Mo., and departed this life Monday, May 7, 2012, at the age of 88 years and 20 days.

Irene, as she was known to her many friends and family, married Carl L. "Bud" Smith on Dec. 21, 1962. He preceded her in death on Thursday, April 4, 1985. Irene was also preceded in death by five brothers, Bufford, Ovey, J.B. Ernest and Earmol Ford, and three sisters, Ava "Jerry" Geraldine Harwell, Jewell Stafford and Pauline McMullin.

Irene worked for Southwestern Bell for almost 20 years, and retired from Riggs Supply in Kennett after working there for over 35 years. She was awarded the Missouri Older Worker of the Year award in 1996.

Survivors include one son, Karl Eric Smith, of Kennett; a nephew, Randy and his wife Sandy Stafford, and their two sons, Chris and Steven, from Charleston, S.C.; another nephew, Charles and wife, Sherry Isbell, of Kennett; Charles' son, Darin and wife, Tonya Isbell, of Kennett, and daughter, Sabrina Schneider and husband, Tom, of Mt. Juliet, Tenn.; niece, Nancy Isbell, of Kennett; niece, Sheila Brase and husband, Terry, of Sikeston, Mo., and sons, Ben and Josh, also of Sikeston, and nephew, Michael J. Harwell, Sr., and his wife, Patty and their children, Michael J. Harwell, Jr., of Paragould, Ark., Nicole Lee and husband, Burt, of Lafe, Ark., and Leane Parish and husband, Jimmy, of Marmaduke, Ark. Irene leaves several other relatives and many special friends.

Visitation will be from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m., today, Wednesday, May 9, at the McDaniel Funeral Home in Kennett.

Funeral services will be held at 11 a.m., Thursday, May 10, at the McDaniel Funeral Home Chapel with Rev. Ben Jordan officiating.

Burial will follow in the Oak Ridge Cemetery at Kennett.

Pallbearers are Darin Isbell, Eric Campbell, David Couples, Tom Hopgood, Ronnie Morgan and Tony Cannon.

Honorary pallbearers are Jim Akers, Tommy Campbell, John Emerson, Dolph Riggs, Joe Woodard and Bill Grogan.

Online condolences may be made at www.mcdanielfuneralservice.com.