[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 63°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 42°F
Thursday, Oct. 20, 2016

Wilson earns Player of the Year honors, leads All-Conference team

Thursday, October 26, 2006

CARDWELL, Mo. -- Lindsey Wilson of Gideon was named Player of the Year in the Tri-County Conference after leading her Lady Bulldogs to the conference tournament championship and a share of the regular-season title.

Also on the Tri-County first team are:

Laura Watson, Holcomb. Watson led the Lady Hornets to their first district title since 2001 and is one of two players to earn All-Tri-County first-team honors the last two years.

Sara Darnell, Clarkton. Like Watson, Darnell was a first-team All-Conference pick last year as well, and led her Lady Reindeer to a share of the Tri-County title behind a 7-1 mark in league play.

Cassy Woolverton, Gideon. Woolverton combined with Wilson to make for a potent 1-2 punch as Gideon rolled to a 27-5-1 mark this season, the best in the Bootheel.

Dani Nelson, Campbell. Nelson was arguably the best player on a Campbell team that finished 12-12 this season, recording double-digit totals in kills on several occasions.

Lindsey Blankenship, Delta C7. One of the best all-around athletes in the Bootheel, Blankenship was a second-team plck last year and was a key part of the Lady Chargers' success this season.

On the junior varsity side, Sierra Randolph and Samantha Rinehart from Gideon made the first team, where they were joined by Campbell's Chelsea Bledsoe, Paige Morgan of Cooter, Holcomb's Jenna McKuin and Darcy McMinn of Southland

Also receiving All-Conference recognition were:


Second team

Whitney Modlin, Campbell

Whitney Coleman, Clarkton

Michelle Lewelling, Cooter

Erin Richardson, Gideon

Tiffani Weaver, Holcomb

Holly Back, Southland

Honorable mention

Tasha Joiner, Clarkton

Kelsey Staggs, Delta C7

Maci Boone, Gideon

Kacey Moody, Holcomb

Katie Martin, Risco

Brett Higgins, Southland

Coach of the Year: Gentry Vancil, Holcomb

Junior Varsity

Second team

Morgan McCormick, Campbell

Kara Campbell, Cooter

Chelsea Pierce, Delta C7

Mallori Jones, Holcomb

Lauren Massey, North Pemiscot

Paige Baugh, Southland

Honorable mention

Tiffany Collier, Clarkton

Brianna Greenway, Cooter

Hannah Bryant, Delta C7

Rachel Elsworth, Gideon

Ashley Emmons, Holcomb

Becca Bakich, Southland

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: