[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 77°F ~ Low: 63°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Jackson Tipton

Friday, June 4, 2004

Jackson Hale Tipton, 82, of Caruthersville, Mo., died Sunday, May 30, 2004, at the Caruthersville Nursing Center.

Born Feb. 12, 1922, at Tiptonville, Tenn., a son of the late James Wade and Annie Laurie Montgomery Tipton, he attended school in Malden and Caruthersville, graduating in 1939; he attended Purdue University. He served in the U.S. Army during World War II. A farmer, he served as president of Missouri Soybean Association, the Missouri Cotton Producers Association, and held offices of secretary and treasurer of the American Soybean Association, treasurer of Missouri Soybean Merchandising County and was a member of the American Soybean Development Board. He served as chairman of the Board of Trustees and Elder of First Presbyterian Church in Caruthersville, and chairman of Federal Land Bank Association of Caruthersville. He was a member of the University of Missouri Delta Center Advisory Board, the No.3 Drainage District Board; First State Bank board of directors; Pemiscot County Port Authority board and St. Francis Levee District board.

On Aug. 7, 1944, he married Harriett Pierce, who preceded him in death Oct. 3, 1984; on Nov. 23, 1985, he married Emma Staten Spencer who survives.

Other survivors include one son, Jack Hale Tipton and his wife, Beverly, of Caruthersville; one daughter, Ellen Madison and her husband, David, of Caruthersville; one sister, Annie Laurie Wrather and husband, Aubra, of Portagevile; 10 grandchildren, Clarie Madison Reesor, Clark Madison, Katie Tipton, Sarah Tipton, Michael Tipton, Staten Spencer, Kate Spencer, Spencer Heflin, Grant Heflin and Libby Heflin; one great-grandchild, Jackson Reesor.

He was preceded in death by five brothers and two sisters.

Funeral services were 2 p.m. June 1, at First Presbyterian Church with the Rev. Dr. Paul Currie officiating.

Burial was in Little Prairie Cemetery at Caruthersville.

Pallbearers were Ron Stutzman, Wade Tipton, Roy Wrather, Tommy Tipton, Rogers VanAusdall, Jr. and Steve VanAusdall.

Honorary pallbearers were Royce Proctor, Mike Cunningham, Jack Hutchison and Jack Cooperman.

H.S. Smith Funeral Home of Caruthersville was in charge of arrangement.